Shawna Freshwater, Ph.D.   ·   Clinical Psychologist, NeuroPsychologist & Holistic Healer   ·   Contact for your free 15-minute consultation

Introduction 7 main Chakras

7 main Chakras

The word Chakra is Sanskrit. Chakra translates to wheel or disk. Chakra refers to wheels of energy or spinning energy disks throughout the body. There are seven main chakras. The Chakras start at the base of the spine and are aligned through to the crown of the head.

These spinning wheels of energy correspond to massive nerve centers in the body. Each of the seven main chakras contains bundles of nerves and the major organs.

Each of the Chakras also corresponds to our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of Being. Since everything is energy, it is paramount that our seven main chakras stay fluid, aligned, balanced, and flowing.

To visualize a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of energy where physical particles of matter and consciousness meet. This invisible energy is called Prana in sanskrit or called Chi or Qi in Chinese . Prana or Chi/Qi is vital life force energy. It is the vital inner energy field in your body.  At the cellular level, at conception, when sperm enters ovum the energy was and remains life force energy. Life force energy keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive.

Prana, Chi / Qi, life force energy, can not flow when any Chakra has blockage. Energy moves from the lowest Chakra —Root Chakra to the highest Chakra —Crown Chakra

ॐ mind + emotion + body + soul ॐ
are intimately connected

All of the seven chakras are important and interconnected with each other. The balancing of one chakra will create energetic vibrational change in another chakra. However, it is very important to fully balance the 1st Chakra, Root Chakra-Muladhara before we proceed to other chakras, or we will lack the stability and rootedness necessary for true transformation and personal growth. We cannot grow and change unless we feel safe and secure which is the principle of the 1st chakra Root -Muladhara.

Moreover, conscious awareness of an imbalance in one area requires practice and clearing so that the other chakras will begin to synchronize and be in relative balance.

Imbalance in your Chakras means that some Chakras are over-active, and some are under-active. Many people who are new to the ideas of Chakra balancing or Chakra healing mistakenly think that means just opening the Chakras. However, like all things in life the keyword is “balance”, not too much, and not too little.

Since the Chakras receive and transmit energy (mind – emotion -body – soul ) too much or too little may effect the way we think, act and feel. For example, an under active Heart Chakra may translate into miserly and selfish personality. However, over-active flow through the Heart Chakra may translate into a person who is generous compassion person but can easily be taken advantage of by others. The key is Chakra assessments and then balancing them so they are in energetic harmony.

This Blog will be a Series starting with this Introduction and progressing through a teaching on each of the 7 main chakras. The Blogs that follow will be uploaded and linked as I write them: 1st Chakra-Root- Muladhara

Shawna Freshwater, PhD

Shawna Freshwater, PhD

Hi, I am Dr. Shawna Freshwater, a PhD licensed Clinical Psychologist, Neuropsychologist, and Holistic Practitioner. ** I provide Psychotherapy, Coaching, Healing, Diagnostic testing & Mental Health Check-ups. ** I meet the needs of my patients and clients that are confidential and convenient to their schedule. ** I offer Remote / Online secure interactive video conferencing to USA residents and International clients. ** I also provide Concierge services at your home, office, or private location of your choice if you reside in South Florida Major Cities. ***Please see my website for more information about my credentials and areas of expertise. Thank you. Dr. Freshwater


  1. Karri on March 12, 2019 at 8:58 am

    Hey. I read the root chakra already but did not find any links to any other than that. I would enjoy reading about the others as well. I truely liked the way you put it on the first one and would enjoy reading the others as well.

  2. Kay on May 31, 2019 at 3:55 am

    Same here! I really hope you have the time and energy to continue this series. If you can, please share more info about these spiritual things on Facebook too. I’d love to share them with my friends 🙂

  3. Robin on June 4, 2019 at 11:06 am

    I’ve also been looking for quality content – like this! – on chakras. Hope more is to come!!

  4. Claire on June 26, 2019 at 12:43 am

    I too have read the root chakra one and was looking forward to a comprehensive and well rounded version of the others too. I would love to see this. Could you write a book and sell it? I would pay for your time to see this x

  5. Kathy on July 1, 2019 at 12:23 pm

    Looking forward to further writings on the other chakras. Very informative, descriptive, comprehensive and helpful.

  6. Deanna on July 28, 2019 at 4:02 pm

    Yes, would love to see the rest of this series completed! You did great work on the 1st one. Very informative and helpful.

  7. Roberto Q on August 20, 2019 at 1:29 pm

    I was so excited that after so much research someone has come up with an easy friendly version of understanding the chakras, same as the others I really enjoyed reading it too and was looking forward to reading more about the others. Hope you have time to continue this journey. And thank you.
    Much peace and love 🙏💚

Leave a Comment